Organ systems.

Most plants contain three basic organs: roots, stems, and leaves.

They are organized into a root system and a shoot system, connected by vascular tissue.

Roots rely on sugar produced by photosynthesis in the shoot system, and shoots rely on water and minerals absorbed by the root system.